Various and Sundry Things: Make-up & Skin Care Review

As I rapidly approach my 29th Birthday, I have been increasingly concerned with my make-up routine – or lack there of.  Sometimes I wash my face and apply moisturizer, sometimes I use a make-up wipe, sometimes I use eye cream – NO CONSISTENCY. I also think I can still get away with having nothing on my face. I am very lucky to have very good skin, but who knows how long that will last.

On a recent girls trip I decided to splurge on some make up and skin care products. I even got a make over to help me with my professional working women look. I have been using the products below for a week (with a mix of my other favorites – see below) and let me tell you, I already see a HUGE difference. And I have been getting some great feedback from friends and co-workers on my new look.

Make up and skin care

//Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick//Smashbox Camera Ready BB Cream//Smashbox Camera Ready BB Cream Eyes//It’s Potent – Eye Cream Benefit//Vichy – Lift Activ Nuit//Smashbox jet set waterproof gel eyeliner//

Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick (Nude vinyl)- When I first tried this on I didn’t like it. I felt like a little kid playing with her mom’s lipstick. This is because I never wear any color on my lips, so it felt a little hesitant. The more I wore it, the more I liked it. When random people in the store started commenting that they liked it, I decided it was time to pull the trigger and buy. It really does last through food/drinks and it is not an overpowering color. I am a fan.

Smashbox Camera Ready BB Cream – Until very recently I had never used a foundation or any thing on my face. I have freckles and pretty even skin so I didn’t really feel it was necessary. Sometimes I will wear tinted moisturizer, but I found that it was making me break out. Now that I have been consistently taking better care of my skin I can say this BB cream works wonders. However, I am still not sold on the color. I may need to buy one shade darker and mix them together (oh the woes of being a half Filipino and half white). Overall I am happy with the smooth finish. 

Smashbox Camera Ready BB Cream EyesProbably my favorite product out of the bunch. Really makes such a difference and super easy application. I would highly recommend this if you are looking for good coverage.

It’s Potent – Eye Cream Benefit –  Great eye cream that isn’t too greasy. I will definitely have to buy the full size once this trial runs out.

Smashbox jet set waterproof gel eyeliner – I have the mac version of the gel eyeliner, but still get the little smudges in the outer eye crevasses. I was hesitant with this being waterproof = a pain to get off. But I have been very happy with it. It stay all day, no smudging.

Vichy – Lift Activ Nuit – I first tried the Vichy line when I was subscribed to Birchbox and I have been hooked ever since. A super affordable skin care line with great feeling moisturizers. I don’t know if it is working, but my face feels lovely after wearing. So that alone will keep me wearing it.

Few other products I picked up.

I really hit the jack pot on my trip to Ulta because I am obsessed with everything I got. This toner is perfect. It was exactly what I was missing from my skin care routine. The mascara, now I know why some people refuse to buy drug store mascara – so worth it.

 ScreenHunter_165 Jan. 29 09.56

Purete Thermale Hydra-Perfecting Toner

ScreenHunter_165 Jan. 29 10.00

Smashbox Photo Op Eye Brightening Mascara

All opinions and recommendations are my own.

signature

Leave a Reply

KATE WANDERS

Fashion.Beauty.Travel.Thoughts

DC Daybook

A DC diary

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Hollis and Prince

"it’s a new era in fashion - there are no rules. it’s all about the individual and personal style, wearing high-end, low-end, classic labels, and up-and-coming designers all together" — alexander mcqueen

BLISS AT HOME

by Kristin Cadwallader

That's SO Jenn!

Confessions of a Foodie

sixty six days of sarah

Time to make life a little more Awesome!

O R B I L I N I A

A painting installation by DEBORAH BARLOW

My Life is My Style

photography, fashion, travel

Costa Kitchen

California Comfort Food from the Santa Barbara "Costa's" (Coast)

