Various and Sundry Things: Workout Inspiration

When it comes to exercise and working out Melissa and I couldn’t be more opposite. She loves to exercise, while I on the other hand am more a lover of sitting on my couch in my fat pants. As I get older I realize the need to live a more active lifestyle not only for the fit of my clothes, but my overall long-term health. I never thought I would ever say those words, but alas I beyond the decade of life where immediate gratification or bust. In an effort to get my self to be more active I have been in search of things to inspire me to do so.

1. Get a workout buddy. Because not everyone can afford a personal trainer-however they are the greatest motivator i have come to experience it isn’t always financially feasible. This person ideally is more motivated than you to exercise and go to gym classes. Having someone who is more enthusiastic about exercise that you respect is a huge motivator!

2. Join a somewhat expensive gym. I realize this isn’t for everyone, but I find little things more disturbing than wasting my hard-earned $$. So if I am shucking out loads of cash for something, you better believe I am going to use it. It is like those expensive shoes you purchase with the pay per wear justification-wear it into the ground.

3. Recently I have been stumbling upon fitness literature-not looking for this stuff, promise. I recently read this article that lit the smallest, faintest flame under me. There are some instantly noticeable benefits stated; exercise does help my overall mood and if I find that I stressed or experiencing anxiety it provides instant relief.

4. Get some cute work out clothes, and no I don’t mean yoga pants you wear everywhere except to yoga class. I have been wanting a Nike Fuelband for a while. Sometimes my motivators only work for short periods of time (6 months or so), then I have to find the next round of things to get me up and moving. I know myself well enough to know that I would compete with myself on a day-to-day basis with one of these bad boys.

getting in shape

Old Navy hoodie // Nike Fuelband // Salomon running shoes // Nike headband // Old Navy compression capris // REI gym bag

Got any great workout motivators? We would love to hear them.

signature

Leave a Reply

KATE WANDERS

Fashion.Beauty.Travel.Thoughts

DC Daybook

A DC diary

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Hollis and Prince

"it’s a new era in fashion - there are no rules. it’s all about the individual and personal style, wearing high-end, low-end, classic labels, and up-and-coming designers all together" — alexander mcqueen

BLISS AT HOME

by Kristin Cadwallader

That's SO Jenn!

Confessions of a Foodie

sixty six days of sarah

One girl...one summer...nothing to do!

O R B I L I N I A

A painting installation by DEBORAH BARLOW

My Life is My Style

photography, fashion, travel

Costa Kitchen

California Comfort Food from the Santa Barbara "Costa's" (Coast)

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

