Feed Me: Brown Rice Minestrone Soup

It is a new year and like almost every January I start off trying to eat as healthy as I possibly can. This usually tapers off into cheeseburger tunnel vision by mid-February. However, while on our drive up and down the east coast (woof), my fiancé was listening to Alton Brown’s podcast, which pretty much made me terrified of meat. If you know anything about me, you know one of the top three loves of my life is meat-heartbreaking. So in an effort to each healthier, and my new fear of meat (let’s be honest, I will probably throw caution to the wind before the end of the month) I decided to make  this recipe for dinner. Honestly I am not mad at how it turned out, not one bit.

Ingredients:

  • 1 c uncooked brown rice
  • 1 large carrot, about 1/2 c diced
  • 1 small white onion, about 1/2 c
  • 1 and 1/2 c diced baby potatoes I used red potato type C
  • 6 c liquid ( 4 c vegetable broth, 2 c water)
  • 2 containers of tomatoes, quartered
  • 1 can Cannelloni beans
  • 2-3 cups fresh spinach

*This recipe calls for celery, which I despise, but feel free to add one stalk of celery diced if that is your jam.

Directions:

Begin cooking the brown rice in a separate pot. In recent history i have been burning my brown rice (the pot gets too hot, I am not watching, etc.), so I opted to try this new method. Never going back to the old ways.

Slice carrots into coins, and *dice celery and onion, into a soup pot with some olive oil- sautéing until soft (I got overly excited and accidentally put the potatoes in too- no biggie)

Add the vegetable broth and water, stirring until the cooked on flavor incorporates into the broth. Add cubed potatoes and cook on medium-low for 15-20 minutes or so until the potatoes are almost soft.

Add the chopped tomatoes and the white beans with their juice to the pot, mixing everything together.

broth

Add in spinach and let cook down until soft. Then the drained brown rice to the pot.

rice

Let it simmer for another 5-10 minutes. Season the soup with salt and pepper and add more water if you need additional broth liquid.

bowl

If you feel like putting the party into this dish top it with some Parmesan!

*Note to self, work on food photography*

signature

4 comments
  1. Thanks for trying out my recipe, and glad to hear you made some great substitutions for ingredients you didn’t like or have on hand. Thanks for the link back as well!

  2. Ani said:

    I never thought of adding brown rice to soups – I don’t know why! Sounds great!

    • It definitely makes a difference. I am glad you liked it. ~Jessica

Leave a Reply

KATE WANDERS

Fashion.Beauty.Travel.Thoughts

DC Daybook

A DC diary

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Hollis and Prince

"it’s a new era in fashion - there are no rules. it’s all about the individual and personal style, wearing high-end, low-end, classic labels, and up-and-coming designers all together" — alexander mcqueen

BLISS AT HOME

by Kristin Cadwallader

That's SO Jenn!

Confessions of a Foodie

sixty six days of sarah

One girl...one summer...nothing to do!

O R B I L I N I A

A painting installation by DEBORAH BARLOW

My Life is My Style

photography, fashion, travel

Costa Kitchen

California Comfort Food from the Santa Barbara "Costa's" (Coast)

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

