Various and Sundry Things: Who Freaking Cares!

Yesterday I was telling Jessica about my epiphany and I thought I would share it with you all too. I, along with the rest of the female population, hate buying pants. The thought of buying pants always puts the pressure on me that I should be a certain size. We do not post too many pictures of ourselves but I am 5’11’ with an athletic build and I am overall confident in my body. Over the years my weight has fluctuated  from the excess college weight to the pre – marriage skinny weight and now the working to getting in better shape weight (DC happy hours and brunches are not good for the waist line).

I always refuse to buy pants because in my head I tell myself when I lose weight or when I reach a certain size I will buy pants. Or I will buy pants in the size I think I should be and then not wear them because they do not fit. This pattern has happened during my skinnier days and fatter days and it has to stop. WHO FREAKING CARES WHAT SIZE YOUR CLOTHES ARE is the epiphany I had. While some of you probably think well duh isn’t this obvious no one sees it anyway? Well for a tall girl like me with friends who are size 0 and 2 (are they really? vanity sizing is out of control) it is hard to not compare yourself. Well whatever I am done with this mind-set of waiting to be “the perfect size” and yesterday I bought two pairs of pants at Loft and they look great, because they fit. If I lose a bunch of weight I can get them tailored, but until then I will have pants that look awesome and FIT. Now that makes me feel good!

So instead of focusing on being the perfect size I am going to focus on taking care of my body and being healthy and fit. I think you should too.

ScreenHunter_143 Oct. 10 10.40

signature

1 comment
  1. Alex said:

    This is so true. Thanks for sharing! And The Loft pants are my absolute favorite – especially for a girl with curves!

Leave a Reply

KATE WANDERS

Fashion.Beauty.Travel.Thoughts

DC Daybook

A DC diary

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Hollis and Prince

"it’s a new era in fashion - there are no rules. it’s all about the individual and personal style, wearing high-end, low-end, classic labels, and up-and-coming designers all together" — alexander mcqueen

BLISS AT HOME

by Kristin Cadwallader

That's SO Jenn!

Confessions of a Foodie

sixty six days of sarah

One girl...one summer...nothing to do!

O R B I L I N I A

A painting installation by DEBORAH BARLOW

My Life is My Style

photography, fashion, travel

Costa Kitchen

California Comfort Food from the Santa Barbara "Costa's" (Coast)

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

