Feed Me: Hearty Vegetable Soup

Once the feel of fall has entered the air all I want is soup. Rich, hearty soup. I recently made a HUGE batch of homemade vegetable soup. I get carried away some times. There were so many vegetables that I wanted to add that the pot just kept getting bigger and bigger.

Veggie Soup

Not only was the soup easy to make, it was super healthy. You can modify this recipe however you want, I happen to be a fan of all vegetables.Veggie Soup2

Homemade Vegetable Soup Recipe by Melissa Parrish

2 Quarts Chicken Stock (I used Costco Organic Chicken Stock) **Can make completely vegetarian with vegetable stock.

2 Cans of V8 Juice

2 – 3 Stalks Celery Chopped

2 Whole Carrots Chopped

2 – 3  Tomatoes

1 Carton of Lima Beans

1 Zucchini

1 Big bunch of Kale

1 Large Onion

1/2 Carton of fresh Mushrooms chopped

2 Tablespoons Vegetable Oil

Instructions: **I made this up as I went a long a let it simmer for a few hours before serving. If you are in a time crunch you do not need to do that. Play with flavors. If it needs more flavor add some more V8.

Heat a large stock pot to medium high heat. Add vegetable oil. Add chopped onions, celery and carrots to the pot. Cook until soft 5-7 mins. Add chicken stock and simmer for 45 minutes. Add the rest of the vegetables and V8 and bring to a boil. Simmer for another hour (or a few) to let the flavors come together. I added a little cayenne pepper to my bowl once i served it because I like the heat. I served the soup with some corn bread and it was the perfect meal.

signature

Leave a Reply

KATE WANDERS

Fashion.Beauty.Travel.Thoughts

DC Daybook

A DC diary

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Hollis and Prince

"it’s a new era in fashion - there are no rules. it’s all about the individual and personal style, wearing high-end, low-end, classic labels, and up-and-coming designers all together" — alexander mcqueen

BLISS AT HOME

by Kristin Cadwallader

That's SO Jenn!

Confessions of a Foodie

sixty six days of sarah

One girl...one summer...nothing to do!

O R B I L I N I A

A painting installation by DEBORAH BARLOW

My Life is My Style

photography, fashion, travel

Costa Kitchen

California Comfort Food from the Santa Barbara "Costa's" (Coast)

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

