Feed Me: Braised Pork Shoulder

As much as I’m not ready for the unbearable hot weather DC has over the summer, it would be nice if it got a little warmer. It is May after all.

Since the weather has been a little chilly I have still be craving comfort foods- like a braised pork shoulder.  Excuse the iPhone pics, I didn’t know if this recipe would be worth posting.  It was a bit of an experiment on my part, but it was seriously amazing.  My husband told me it was “Nana Worthy” meaning it was on par with his grandmother’s cooking which is a huge compliment.  Win for the wife.

While it does make quite a few servings why not try some of our other pork recipes?! BBQ Beer Pork Tacos,  Pork Stew with Roasted Green Chilies,  Pulled Pork Sandwich, and Burrito Bowl with Carnitas.  I promise you that you will not get sick of pork.  Enjoy!

20130506-093243.jpg

20130506-093257.jpg

Ingredients:

1 Pork Shoulder- I think the one I had was 10-12lbs

Salt & Pepper

Minced Garlic

Braising Pan/ Cast Iron Pan

Chicken broth and or beer

Directions:

Set oven temperature for 275. Generously season the pork shoulder with salt, pepper, and minced garlic.  Heat the braising pan to a medium high heat.  Add a little oil to the pan-just enough to coat it.  Add pork shoulder and brown each side.  This probably too me 2-3 minutes on each side.  Add 4 cups of liquid, either chicken broth or beer.  I used chicken broth since I didn’t have any beer.  Bring liquid to a simmer then cover and put pot in the oven.  Cook for about 4 hours.  I checked on it every hour.  You will know it is done when the meat falls apart easily.

20130506-093312.jpgWith the left overs I decided to make pork tacos.  I added the mango salsa that I made recently with the Beer Battered Shrimp.  It was amazing! Do you have any pork recipes to share?

signature

 

Leave a Reply

KATE WANDERS

Fashion.Beauty.Travel.Thoughts

DC Daybook

A DC diary

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Hollis and Prince

"it’s a new era in fashion - there are no rules. it’s all about the individual and personal style, wearing high-end, low-end, classic labels, and up-and-coming designers all together" — alexander mcqueen

BLISS AT HOME

by Kristin Cadwallader

That's SO Jenn!

Confessions of a Foodie

sixty six days of sarah

Time to make life a little more Awesome!

O R B I L I N I A

A painting installation by DEBORAH BARLOW

My Life is My Style

photography, fashion, travel

Costa Kitchen

California Comfort Food from the Santa Barbara "Costa's" (Coast)

