Feed Me: Mustard and Rosemary Chicken (aka Holy Yum Chicken)

Is it Friday yet? I don’t know why I am looking forward to the weekend- I signed up for the DC Rock and Roll Half Marathon and haven’t been training…Hopefully my adrenaline/competitiveness will kick in and it won’t be that bad, positive thinking!  Anyways, I am always on the look out for easy, healthy week night meals that do not take long to prepare.  I found the recipe below on one of my favorite food bloggers Table for Two.  Her pictures look way more appetizing than mine so I think I will make a few changes next time around.  She raved about this dish and I figured that I should try it.  The chicken was tangy and sweet.  I think next time I will brown the chicken on both sides and make more sauce!  The husband approved so that is always a good thing.

Mustard Chicken

Mustard Chicken2

Holy Yum Chicken | Recipe by Table for Two

INGREDIENTS:

1 1/2 – 2 pounds boneless, skinless, chicken thighs (most of the fat cut and discarded)

1/2 cup Dijon mustard (must be Dijon mustard, no substitutes)

1/4 cup pure maple syrup (again, no substitutes. No fake Aunt Jemima stuff)

1 tbsp. rice wine vinegar

1/4 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. ground black pepper

1 tbsp. cornstarch

2 tsp. fresh rosemary for garnish

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Line a 8×8″ oven-proof pan with 2 layers of tin foil. **I used chicken breasts and they didn’t crisp up like hers did.  I think next time I will brown them and cook them for not as long.  
  2. In small bowl, whisk together Dijon mustard, maple syrup, rice wine vinegar, salt and pepper. **Next time I will make more sauce-probably double it.
  3. Place the chicken thighs in the foil layered pan then pour the mixture on top of it. Turn the chicken around in the sauce to make sure it gets all coated.
  4. Bake, uncovered, for 40 minutes.
  5. Remove from oven and let chicken sit for 5 minutes then transfer to a plate. Do NOT discard the liquid.
  6. Immediately after plating chicken, whisk in the 1 tbsp. of cornstarch into the liquid in the pan. You’ll create a nice, thick sauce to drizzle over your chicken. You need to do cornstarch mixing immediately because the liquid needs to be hot in order for it to thicken properly. If it’s still not thickening after 1 tbsp., you can add a little more.
  7. Sprinkle rosemary on top before serving.
  8. Serve with rice or potatoes or vegetables.

signature

Leave a Reply

KATE WANDERS

Fashion.Beauty.Travel.Thoughts

DC Daybook

A DC diary

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Hollis and Prince

"it’s a new era in fashion - there are no rules. it’s all about the individual and personal style, wearing high-end, low-end, classic labels, and up-and-coming designers all together" — alexander mcqueen

BLISS AT HOME

by Kristin Cadwallader

That's SO Jenn!

Confessions of a Foodie

sixty six days of sarah

One girl...one summer...nothing to do!

O R B I L I N I A

A painting installation by DEBORAH BARLOW

My Life is My Style

photography, fashion, travel

Costa Kitchen

California Comfort Food from the Santa Barbara "Costa's" (Coast)

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

