Feed Me: Shrimp and Corn Chowder-with Bacon!

So happy that it is finally Friday! I feel like the short weeks are the ones that drag on and on.  This weekend if full of fun and culinary experiences.  Tonight we are trying Ethiopian for the first time.  I am a little bit nervous, but we are going with friends who have had it before so they will lead the way.  Tomorrow my dad and me are rolling some sushi rolls which I am super excited about.  I will definitely share a “how to”.  Sunday we are venturing out to Annandale, VA to try some Korean BBQ for lunch.  I am going to have to run a few extra miles for all the delicious food we will be eating.

Speaking of great food, today I am sharing a soup I recently made and it was a hit.  Of course I spruced it up to my liking-which means making it spicier.  The recipe is from Cooking Light, which I still find to have tasty recipes with a lot of flavor-bonus they are usually lower in calories.  This soup was creamy, hearty, and good enough to have just as an entree.

Here are some additional delicious soup recipes Jessica and I have made to keep you warm all weekend long! Broccoli and cheddar, bean chili, vegetable, butternut squash with curry, french onion, and cauliflower with Vermont cheddar-man we love soup!

corn shrimp chowder 4 corn shrimp chowder 5

corn shrimp chowder 3

corn shrimp chowder 2

corn shrimp chowder

 

Bacon-Corn Chowder with Shrimp Recipe from Cookinglight 

  • 6 slices center-cut bacon, chopped
  • 1 cup prechopped onion
  • 1/2 cup prechopped celery
  • 1 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 4 cups fresh or frozen corn kernels, thawed- I used fresh
  • 2 cups fat-free, lower-sodium chicken broth
  • 3/4 pound peeled and deveined medium shrimp
  • 1/3 cup half-and-half
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper- my addition 

Preparation

  1. 1. Heat a large Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add bacon to pan; saute 4 minutes or until the bacon begins to brown. Remove 2 slices bacon. Drain on paper towels. Add onion and next 3 ingredients (through minced garlic) to pan, and saute for 2 minutes. Add corn, and cook 2 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add broth; bring to a boil, and cook for 4 minutes.
  2. 2. Place 2 cups of corn mixture in a blender. (I used a stick blender and did not blend it all the day, I like the corn chunks). Remove the center piece of blender lid (to allow steam to escape), and secure lid on blender. Place a clean towel over opening in the blender lid (to avoid splatters). Blend until smooth. Return pureed corn mixture to pan. Stir in shrimp; cook 2 minutes or until shrimp are done. Stir in half-and-half, pepper, and salt. Crumble reserved bacon over soup.

Melissa

Leave a Reply

KATE WANDERS

Fashion.Beauty.Travel.Thoughts

DC Daybook

A DC diary

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Hollis and Prince

"it’s a new era in fashion - there are no rules. it’s all about the individual and personal style, wearing high-end, low-end, classic labels, and up-and-coming designers all together" — alexander mcqueen

BLISS AT HOME

by Kristin Cadwallader

That's SO Jenn!

Confessions of a Foodie

sixty six days of sarah

One girl...one summer...nothing to do!

O R B I L I N I A

A painting installation by DEBORAH BARLOW

My Life is My Style

photography, fashion, travel

Costa Kitchen

California Comfort Food from the Santa Barbara "Costa's" (Coast)

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

