Feed Me: 1-2-3-4! Bean Chili

By nature I am a carnivore; I crave some sort of animal protein every 45 minutes (true story). However, lately I have been trying to consume more vegetables, and less meat. I was feeling a little conflicted this past weekend when I started craving chili, then I happened upon this recipe on Food & Wine. I took some liberties and made it more of my own, and I was surprised with how quick and easy it was to make. Pair this with a delicious grilled cheese and voilà you have the perfect chilly day meal! (Pun completely intended).

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil (I used olive oil for a lighter option)
  • 3 slices of bacon, cut crosswise into 1/4-inch strips (or fatback…)
  • 1 onion, cut into 1/4-inch dice
  • 2 jalapeños, seeded and cut into 1/4-inch dice
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 cup chili powder
  • One 15-ounce can Great Northern beans, drained and rinsed
  • One 15-ounce can pinto beans, drained and rinsed
  • One 15-ounce can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • One 15 ounce can kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • One 28-ounce can diced tomatoes (I used two containers of fresh tomatoes, quartered)
  • 2 cups chicken stock or low-sodium broth
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
  • Chopped cilantro and sour cream, for serving (Cheese please)

Directions:

In a medium soup pot, heat the oil until hot. Add the bacon (or fatback), onion, jalapeños and garlic and cook over moderately high heat until the onion is softened and the bacon fat has been rendered, about 5 minutes. Add the chili powder and cook over moderate heat until fragrant, about 1 minute. Stir in the beans, tomatoes and stock and bring to a simmer. Simmer the chili over moderately low heat until thickened, about 15 minutes. Season with salt and pepper and serve with cilantro, sour cream and cheese.

Jessica

P.S. I got lazy while making this and didn’t take any of my own pictures, so the above photo is provided by All-Recipes.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

KATE WANDERS

Fashion.Beauty.Travel.Thoughts

DC Daybook

A DC diary

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Hollis and Prince

"it’s a new era in fashion - there are no rules. it’s all about the individual and personal style, wearing high-end, low-end, classic labels, and up-and-coming designers all together" — alexander mcqueen

BLISS AT HOME

by Kristin Cadwallader

That's SO Jenn!

Confessions of a Foodie

sixty six days of sarah

One girl...one summer...nothing to do!

O R B I L I N I A

A painting installation by DEBORAH BARLOW

My Life is My Style

photography, fashion, travel

Costa Kitchen

California Comfort Food from the Santa Barbara "Costa's" (Coast)

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

