Dwellings: Faux Fireplace

So…good news….my boyfriend and I have finally found and apartment and the hunt is finally over!!!! We both really love the space and are ridiculously excited to design the home we chose together. However, the concepting phase hasn’t gone so swimmingly. In fact it has come complete with one nuclear meltdown at Ikea (that would be me). Because living in New York is like playing high stakes Tetris, you are always one wrong move away from an episode of Hoarders.This means whatever we chose to do we have to utilize the space wisely. So here we were in the middle of the kitchen display area and he was telling me why my design idea for the kitchen wouldn’t work. Rule number one, never shoot down an idea when said idea creator is experiencing any of the following: sleep deprivation, stress, or still living in an apartment that can only be described as a HOT MESS.

The one thing we haven’t settled on yet, and which we are both comfortable making that decision after we have physically moved is the fireplace. It is, well none functioning, so we are looking to do something with the space that doesn’t include one of the 3 game consoles he owns. Yeah that is right THREE…I don’t understand the need to not only have a PS3, Xbox, and a Wii (which hasn’t been used in 2 years, but he won’t part with it). Here are a few that I am currently considering.

:Style A Home:

: Post Teenage Living:

: Pinterest Mystery:

I rather like the idea of decorating the space based on the season/holiday.

: Home Stories A to Z:

:Google:

:Apartment Therapy:

:Apartment Therapy:

Jessica

2 comments
  1. First, let me say CONGRATS on finding a new apartment, and second, I’m sorry about your melt down at Ikea. I can completely relate; in fact, I think I had a similar meltdown in Ikea about this time last year under similar circumstances. ha!

    I wish you the best of luck on the redecorating, but I’m sure you will come up with something fabulous. Also, if you find something creative to do with 3 game consoles, can I request a blog post on that! I feel your pain. xo Amber

Leave a Reply

KATE WANDERS

Fashion.Beauty.Travel.Thoughts

DC Daybook

A DC diary

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Hollis and Prince

"it’s a new era in fashion - there are no rules. it’s all about the individual and personal style, wearing high-end, low-end, classic labels, and up-and-coming designers all together" — alexander mcqueen

BLISS AT HOME

by Kristin Cadwallader

That's SO Jenn!

Confessions of a Foodie

sixty six days of sarah

One girl...one summer...nothing to do!

O R B I L I N I A

A painting installation by DEBORAH BARLOW

My Life is My Style

photography, fashion, travel

Costa Kitchen

California Comfort Food from the Santa Barbara "Costa's" (Coast)

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

