Feed Me: Broccoli Cheddar Soup

I am quite fond of Panera’s Broccoli Cheddar Soup, and I have been trying to recreate it. I think I have finally gotten close with this recipe. It is creamy, delicious, and extremely easy to make. I didn’t have any bread bowls to add the soup too, but I will make sure to have them next time.

Ingredients:

2 Cups Half and Half

2 Cups Chicken Broth

2 Cups Sharp Cheddar Cheese

1 Tablespoon Butter

1/4 Cup of Butter

1/4 Cup of Flour

1/2 Cup of Onion-I used a whole..I like onions

1 Cup of Grated Carrots- I left them whole since I used a stick blender to mix

1/2 lb of Broccoli

Sprinkle of Nutmeg

Salt and Pepper to Taste

Directions:

Cook onions in on tablespoon of butter until softened.

In a separate pot make a roux-melt 1/4 cup of butter and whisk flour into the butter until it becomes smooth with no lumps.

Whisk in half and half slowly. Whisk in chicken broth. PS it is difficult to whisk, take pictures, and pour at the same time….

Add carrots and broccoli and simmer for 20 mins, until the vegetables are soft.

I used my stick blender to mix everything up. I love my stick blender, I used it here too! A regular blender would work fine too.

Stir in cheese. Add nutmeg. Taste so you know how much salt and pepper to add.

MMMMM almost ready to eat.

Came out better than expected.

Up close and personal.

Melissa

3 comments

Leave a Reply

KATE WANDERS

Fashion.Beauty.Travel.Thoughts

DC Daybook

A DC diary

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Hollis and Prince

"it’s a new era in fashion - there are no rules. it’s all about the individual and personal style, wearing high-end, low-end, classic labels, and up-and-coming designers all together" — alexander mcqueen

BLISS AT HOME

by Kristin Cadwallader

That's SO Jenn!

Confessions of a Foodie

sixty six days of sarah

One girl...one summer...nothing to do!

O R B I L I N I A

A painting installation by DEBORAH BARLOW

My Life is My Style

photography, fashion, travel

Costa Kitchen

California Comfort Food from the Santa Barbara "Costa's" (Coast)

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

