Feed Me: Asian Steamed Dumplings

Lately I have been trying to cook out of my “cooking comfort zone.” Instead of sticking to my favorites, I have been experimenting with meats and ethnic cooking. I am half Filipino and have a huge love affair for Asian cuisine. Growing up I was spoiled with my dad’s amazing cooking skills, especially when cooking Asian food.

I came across this recipe on pinterest and was ready to take on the challenge. I was pretty impressed with how they came out, and I did follow the recipe except I made them with beef instead of pork. They had a great simple flavor, and it was a great accomplishment when they were finished. I do recommend making or buying several different dipping sauces to go along with them. The original recipe has a delicious dipping sauce, so definitely give it a try.

Ingredients:

Dough:

1 Cup warm water

2 Teaspoons of dry yeast

1/2 Teaspoon of salt

2 Tablespoons of Veggie OIl

1 Teaspoon of Sugar

3 Cups of Flour

Filling:

1 cup chopped onion

½ cup chopped carrot

1½ cup chopped zucchini

1½ cup chopped green onions

2 cups chopped white mushrooms

14 oz of ground pork or beef

1 Teaspoon soy sauce

2 cloves of minced garlic

1 Teaspoon sesame oil

½ Teaspoon ground black pepper

Directions:

Make the dough first. In a large bowl mix together the water, yeast, salt, veggie oil, and sugar. Mix until the yeast is dissolved. Add the flour and mix/knead for 2-3 minutes. I found that the dough got sticky so I added additional flour as needed.

Cut up all vegetables into small pieces. Sprinkle with salt. Make sure all the vegetables are dry.

In a separate bowl mix, by hand, meat, garlic, sesame oil, soy sauce, and pepper.

Cook vegetables in a wok until soft. Remove vegetables to a bowl then add meat to the wok. Once the meat is cooked through add the meat mixture to the vegetables.

Split the dough into 16 pieces. Roll out each piece so it is about 4 inches across.

Add 2-3 Tablespoons of mixture to the dough. Press the top of the dough together so that the meat and vegetable mixture is enclosed.

I used cupcake wrappers to hold the dumplings in the steamer.

Fill 6-7 cups of water in the bottom of the steamer. Cook on high for 20 mins.

 

 

A little Instagram filter for the close up.

-Melissa

1 comment

Leave a Reply

KATE WANDERS

Fashion.Beauty.Travel.Thoughts

DC Daybook

A DC diary

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Hollis and Prince

"it’s a new era in fashion - there are no rules. it’s all about the individual and personal style, wearing high-end, low-end, classic labels, and up-and-coming designers all together" — alexander mcqueen

BLISS AT HOME

by Kristin Cadwallader

That's SO Jenn!

Confessions of a Foodie

sixty six days of sarah

One girl...one summer...nothing to do!

O R B I L I N I A

A painting installation by DEBORAH BARLOW

My Life is My Style

photography, fashion, travel

Costa Kitchen

California Comfort Food from the Santa Barbara "Costa's" (Coast)

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

