Feed Me: Coq au Vin

Since I’ve spent the month of January either being sick or taking care of someone who is sick, I had had a lot of down time to watch the food network and read cook books. Once I started feeling better I was eager to eat something besides chicken broth. Reading Cooking in Cast Iron got me salivating and energized to cook something delicious. The cover of the cookbook was the Coq au Vin recipe that I am writing about today! We were given beautiful cast iron Staub pots from Williams Sonoma for our wedding and I have been using them as much as possible.

The Coq au Vin came out delicious. I got thumbs up from my husband and his friend. I happily ate all of the leftovers 🙂 The wine flavor was very strong so make sure to taste test as you go to get it to your liking.

Ingredients: Serves 4-6

1 chicken ~ 3lbs cut up into pieces (I used thigh’s and drum sticks)

Sea Salt and Cracked Pepper

6 Tablespoons of Olive Oil

3 large yellow onions

4 cloves of garlic finey chopped

3 slices smoked bacon, roughly chopped

2 Carrots Sliced

1 Stalk of Celery, Sliced

2 Bay Leaves

2 Tablespoons Herbes de Provence

3 Cups Dry White Whine

3 Cups of Chicken Broth

1 Cup Heavy Cream

1 Small Bunch of Tarragon

Directions:

Season the chicken with salt and pepper and set aside

In a 5-7 qt dutch oven over medium heat warm the olive oil. Add the onion, garlic, bacon, celery, bay leaves, and herbes de Provence. Sautee until all the vegetables are soft and golden brown 8-10 min. Transfer to a bowl.

Place the seasoned chicken pieces in the pot, adding more oil if needed. Cook turing once with tongs, until the chicken is a dark golden brown. About 5 min on each side.

Return the onion mixture to the pot, pur the wine and broth over the mixture and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to low, cover, and simmer, without stirring until the chicken is opaque throughout and the juices have reduced slightly, about 45 mins.

Remove from the head and adjust the seasoning with salt and pepper. Let the stew stand, covered for 5 mins. Stir in the cream, sprinkle with the tarragon, and serve right away.

I decided to serve my Coq au Vin with rice, but a loaf of french bread would have been delicious too!

-Melissa

1 comment
  1. Amy Joy said:

    Coq au vin is great! Casey and others have really liked it the couple of times I’ve made it. Looks like yours turned out delicious. And that dutch oven is gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

KATE WANDERS

Fashion.Beauty.Travel.Thoughts

DC Daybook

A DC diary

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Hollis and Prince

"it’s a new era in fashion - there are no rules. it’s all about the individual and personal style, wearing high-end, low-end, classic labels, and up-and-coming designers all together" — alexander mcqueen

BLISS AT HOME

by Kristin Cadwallader

That's SO Jenn!

Confessions of a Foodie

sixty six days of sarah

One girl...one summer...nothing to do!

O R B I L I N I A

A painting installation by DEBORAH BARLOW

My Life is My Style

photography, fashion, travel

Costa Kitchen

California Comfort Food from the Santa Barbara "Costa's" (Coast)

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

