Feed Me: Rosemary Apple Turnovers with Honey

Whilst scrolling through my Google Reader yesterday I came across this recipe on  The Kitchen, which is part of a cluster of lifestyle blogs that also encompass  Apartment Therapy. The timing couldn’t have been more perfect. I have been looking for alternative things to eat for breakfast that include seasonal flavors. So naturally I was pretty excited to try this bad boy. So let’s get down to business

The ingredients…..

Ingredients

1 recipe single pie crust, chilled* or 1 sheet puff pastry, thawed (I opted for the puff pastry)

1 large apple, about 8-10 ounces, peeled, cored and cut into 1/4-inch dice
2 tablespoons honey
1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract (I like to add just a smidge more because vanilla makes everything better!)
1/8 teaspoon minced fresh rosemary
1/8 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
pinch salt
1 egg, lightly beaten

The process….

Preheat oven to 375° F.

In a bowl, combine the apple, honey, vanilla, rosemary, nutmeg, flour, and salt. Set aside.

Everyone in

One big happy family

On a lightly floured surface, roll out the pie crust out to a 17- x 9-inch rectangle. (If using puff pastry, unfold the sheet- I ended up using both sheets in the package.) Trim to a 16- x 8-inch rectangle. Cut the sheet into eight 4- x 4-inch pieces.

Such a square

Place a generous spoonful of the apple mixture in the center of each square, leaving at least 3/4-inches around all sides.

Fill 'er up

Using a finger or a pastry brush, gently apply a coat of the beaten egg to the exposed border of the pastry.

Butter you than me

Fold each piece to form a triangle. Seal the edges with the tines of a fork, or pinch with two fingers. Brush the tops of the turnovers with more of the egg wash. Slice a few small slits in the top of the turnovers to allow steam to escape.

I'm so full

Crimped my style

Place the turnovers on a lined baking sheet and bake for 25-30 minutes, until the tops are golden brown.

Da-dunt-da-dun!

Ready for the cool down

I have taken to drizzling a little honey on the top and then devouring the deliciousness 🙂

-Icey

(All pictures and some quirky quotes were a contribution from my wonderful boo)

Leave a Reply

KATE WANDERS

Fashion.Beauty.Travel.Thoughts

DC Daybook

A DC diary

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Hollis and Prince

"it’s a new era in fashion - there are no rules. it’s all about the individual and personal style, wearing high-end, low-end, classic labels, and up-and-coming designers all together" — alexander mcqueen

BLISS AT HOME

by Kristin Cadwallader

That's SO Jenn!

Confessions of a Foodie

sixty six days of sarah

Time to make life a little more Awesome!

O R B I L I N I A

A painting installation by DEBORAH BARLOW

My Life is My Style

photography, fashion, travel

Costa Kitchen

California Comfort Food from the Santa Barbara "Costa's" (Coast)

