Dwellings: Antiqued Mirrors

One of my boyfriend and I’s favorite restaurants to frequent in New York City is Café D’ Alsace. The fare is divine, featuring Alsatian Cuisine and touting one of the city’s most distinguished beer menus (I am a beer snob….there I said it). It was during one our Sunday brunches that I discovered how much I love antiqued mirrors. The café has several of these mirrors peppered throughout the restaurant which adds such nice detail to the already beautifully curated space. Which got my imagination wondering as to how I could incorporate antiqued mirrors into my home and how easily could I do this on my own. After a quick online search I found a couple tutorials on how to antique mirrors (here and here) .  Which was a sigh of relief knowing that I wouldn’t have  to scour the somewhat questionable landscape of Craigslist or jaunt to every antique store within a reasonable (or not so reasonable) distance to find exactly what I am looking for. The best element of this decorative piece is that it isn’t’ limited to just framed and wall mounted mirrors. Antiqued mirrors can be incorporated into pieces of furniture such as a bed frame or the facade of a dresser as well as be used to highlight another feature within a space.

A close up of what an antiqued mirror looks like (in case you were wondering).

Source: salvagesavvy.blogspot.com via Jessica on Pinterest

I love the fluer-de-lis detail on this frame.

Source: etsy.com via Jessica on Pinterest

Source: smallshopstudio.com via Jessica on Pinterest

Source: salvagesavvy.blogspot.com via Jessica on Pinterest

Here are some examples of how  antique mirrors can be used to highlight another feather within a space. This picture and the one below are from the Alexander McQueen exhibit at the MET this past summer. Yes I got to attend and yes the dress in the middle is mine, so don’t even think about it.

Source: apartmenttherapy.com via Jessica on Pinterest

This is a perfect example of how an antiqued mirror effect can totally transform a piece of furniture into something so stunning.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

KATE WANDERS

Fashion.Beauty.Travel.Thoughts

DC Daybook

A DC diary

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Hollis and Prince

"it’s a new era in fashion - there are no rules. it’s all about the individual and personal style, wearing high-end, low-end, classic labels, and up-and-coming designers all together" — alexander mcqueen

BLISS AT HOME

by Kristin Cadwallader

That's SO Jenn!

Confessions of a Foodie

sixty six days of sarah

Time to make life a little more Awesome!

O R B I L I N I A

A painting installation by DEBORAH BARLOW

My Life is My Style

photography, fashion, travel

Costa Kitchen

California Comfort Food from the Santa Barbara "Costa's" (Coast)

