Feed Me: Butternut Squash Soup

I am a HUGE fan of Butternut Squash Soup. I waited patiently until they came in season, and now I cannot stop cooking with them. There are tons of ways to make Butternut Squash Soup, but I opted for the simple method with the least amount of ingredients. I used a recipe from my girl Paula Deen, and of course altered a few things along the way. As a starter or it’s own course, it tastes delicious with a dallop of sour cream and a big hunk of crispy bread.

Ingredients:  Serves 4

1-2lb Butternut Squash-Seeded-peeled-Cut into 1in cubes

1 1/2 cup of Onions (I added more because I really like onions)

2 Carrots (I added more carrots)

3 cans of Chicken Broth

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons butter

1/2 cup light cream or heavy cream

Sour cream, for garnish

Start with peeling, seeding, and dicing the Butternut Squash into 1in pieces. I like to leave a little of the skin since that is where all the nutrients are (I didn’t leave this much though).

All of the Squash, Carrots, and onions in the pot.

Add the Chicken Broth and Salt. Simmer uncovered for about 40 mins-until really tender.

It starts to boil down and look like this 🙂

Once the consistency is mush add the butter. At this point you can either use a stick blender (my favorite option), a food processor, or a blender. I also made this with none of these devices and just mashed it up real good. It was still a hit! Here it is your preference if you enjoy really smooth or a little chunky. 

Add the whipping cream nice and slow.

Most delicious on a cold winter day!!

-Melissa

5 comments
  1. Loving the info on this web site, you have done outstanding job on the posts.

  2. whoah this blog is great i love reading your posts. Keep up the good work! You know, a lot of people are searching around for this information, you can help them greatly.

Leave a Reply

KATE WANDERS

Fashion.Beauty.Travel.Thoughts

DC Daybook

A DC diary

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Hollis and Prince

"it’s a new era in fashion - there are no rules. it’s all about the individual and personal style, wearing high-end, low-end, classic labels, and up-and-coming designers all together" — alexander mcqueen

BLISS AT HOME

by Kristin Cadwallader

That's SO Jenn!

Confessions of a Foodie

sixty six days of sarah

One girl...one summer...nothing to do!

O R B I L I N I A

A painting installation by DEBORAH BARLOW

My Life is My Style

photography, fashion, travel

Costa Kitchen

California Comfort Food from the Santa Barbara "Costa's" (Coast)

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

