Dwellings: View from my front porch

Starting as a wee tot I had a fascination with the breath-taking wrap around porches that peppered my southern origin. There is something so regal yet inviting about the space. It is almost as though they beckon to you, “come rest your bones and forget all your worries”. While I don’t have the luxury
of owning a home, especially since I live in NYC a girl can always dream… about my future home equipped with the most fabulous porch.

I love the idea of having painted floorboards. It adds a personal touch that is unexpected and charming.

I have an obsession with blue painted ceilings. I think this dates back to my hometown and the mysticism behind it.

Of course no porch is complete without some sort  of furniture that can easily lull you to sleep.I could easily be coerced into a nap by either of these two beauties.

-Icey

I was told early on in my college days at the University of South Carolina, “Maryland is not a Southern State.” However, growing up visiting in my Grandparents in South Carolina certainly gave me an appreciation for the lifestyle, and architecture. My Grandparents have a fabulous wrap around porch that over looks the water. I have so many wonderful memories spending time with them on the porch. Where ever I end up, I want a wrap around porch where I can relax, and unwind.

Rocking chairs, lemonade, or sweet tea are porch staples.


-Melissa

1 comment
  1. I love wrap around porches, porch swings, and rocking chairs and would love to have that space some day. It just seems so inviting to have a cold drink and spend time with friends and family.

Leave a Reply

KATE WANDERS

Fashion.Beauty.Travel.Thoughts

DC Daybook

A DC diary

nest design studio { blog }

our everyday life as designers

Hollis and Prince

"it’s a new era in fashion - there are no rules. it’s all about the individual and personal style, wearing high-end, low-end, classic labels, and up-and-coming designers all together" — alexander mcqueen

BLISS AT HOME

by Kristin Cadwallader

That's SO Jenn!

Confessions of a Foodie

sixty six days of sarah

One girl...one summer...nothing to do!

O R B I L I N I A

A painting installation by DEBORAH BARLOW

My Life is My Style

photography, fashion, travel

Costa Kitchen

California Comfort Food from the Santa Barbara "Costa's" (Coast)

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

